Halal is an Arabic word meaning "lawful" or "permissible." The term covers not only food and drink, but also all matters of daily life.
The most common example of non-halal (or haraam) food is pork. While pork is the only meat that cannot be eaten by Muslims at all, foods other than pork can also be haraam. The criteria for non-pork items include its source, the cause of the animal's death, and how it was processed.
The food must come from a supplier that uses halal practices. Specifically, the slaughter must be performed by a Muslim, who must precede the slaughter by invoking the name of Allah, most commonly by saying "Bismillah" ("In the name of Allah") and then three times Allah Huakbar. Then, the animal must be slaughtered with a sharp knife by cutting the throat, windpipe and the blood vessels in the neck (while the animal is conscious), causing the animal’s death without cutting the spinal cord. Lastly, the blood from the veins must be drained. This final step is performed because blood can harbor harmful bacteria, and also to ensure that there are no blood clots, thus keeping the entire body safe and clean to be eaten.
Muslims must also ensure that all foods (particularly processed foods), as well as non-food items like cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, are halal. Frequently, these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslims to eat or use on their bodies.
What is the meaning of "Haram" ?
The opposite of halal is haram , which is Arabic for unlawful or prohibited.
what is Haram food ?
All kinds of food are considered halal except the following, which are haram:
- Swine/pork and its by-products
- Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering
- Animals not slaughtered in the name of Allah
- Alcohol and all forms of intoxicating and hazardous drinks
- Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, and land animals without external ears
- Pests such as rats, centipedes, scorpions and other similar animals
- Animals forbidden to be killed in Islam e.g. ants, bees, spider and woodpecker birds
- Animals which are considered repulsive generally like lice, flies, maggots and other similar animals
- Animals that live both on land and in water such as frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals
- Blood and by-products of blood
- Foods and drinks which contain any of the above haram ingredients or contaminated through contact with any of the above products.
What is Halal Certification ?
Halal Certification is a recognition that the products are premissible under Islamic law. These products are thus edible, drinkable or usable by Muslims.